Skip to:Main Content

Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University
Washington and Lee University Campus Image

WLUR Names 2013-14 Award Winners

Fulwider, Nardo, Smith-Schoenwalder, Wolff, Swaney and Scaffidi Honored

WLUR has announced the winners of its 2013-14 annual staff awards, with seniors Will Fulwider, Logan Nardo, Todd Smith-Schoenwalder, Tom Wolff and Shawn Swaney and junior Sarah Scaffidi recognized for their contributions to the station.

Fulwider and Nardo shared the Robert J. de Maria Award for Exceptional Staff. Fulwider worked as music director from January 2013-May 2014 and served on the station's public relations committee for three years, helping to plan multiple editions of the station's twice-annual open mic night, Open Air Waves. Nardo held the position of traffic director for two years, overseeing the station's public service announcements and promos and producing numerous broadcasts on WLUR. Both Fulwider and Nardo also worked as disc jockeys during all four of their years at Washington and Lee.

Scaffidi received the General Manager's Service Award for her contributions to the overall station environment. The junior served as music director and was a member of the PR committee in 2013-14, also working as the regular producer for Law Professor Brian Murchison's show "Equal Time" and hosting a weekly music show on Wednesday nights.

Smith-Schoenwalder and Wolff were honored with the Douglas J. Harwood Award for Music Programming. As co-hosts of the Wednesday night show "IAF", the two seniors played a wide variety of alternative and independent music. Smith-Schoenwalder was a four-year DJ for WLUR, while Wolff joined the show during the 2011-12 school year.

Swaney was tabbed as the winner of the Doug Chase Award for Sports Broadcasting. The senior was a commentator for Washington and Lee volleyball broadcasts on WLUR and First Team Broadcasting for four years, serving as both analyst and play-by-play announcer for the school's athletics coverage.

Click here for more information on the awards, including a list of the annual recipients.