Skip to:Main Content

Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University
News @ Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee’s Phi Beta Kappa Chapter Welcomes New Members, Celebrates Centennial

David N. Figlio
David N. Figlio
News Contact:

Washington and Lee University will induct new members into the prestigious Phi Beta Kappa academic honor society at its Phi Beta Kappa/Society of the Cincinnati Convocation on Thursday, March 10, at 11:45 a.m. in Lee Chapel. David N. Figlio, the Orrington Lunt Professor of Education and Social Policy at Northwestern University, will give the keynote address. The event is free and open to the public.

The chapter will also be marking its 100th anniversary at W&L. The third chapter in Virginia, it was founded in 1911 by 50 members of the Washington and Lee community, who at the first meeting initiated 11 students. Of the 287 chapters nationwide, only 77 chapters are 100 or more years old. Representing the national organization will be George Greenia, a professor of Hispanic studies at the College of William and Mary. He belongs to the W&M chapter of Phi Beta Kappa and is a senator of the Phi Beta Kappa Society as well as a member of its Executive Committee and Foundation.

The convocation will recognize and honor 52 members of the current and just-graduated students who have been accepted into Phi Beta Kappa based on their exceptional academic achievements. It will also recognize and honor seven members of the Class of 2010, plus an alumni member, an honorary member and the winner of the Phi Beta Kappa J. Brown Goehring Sophomore Award.

Guest speaker David N. Figlio, the Orrington Lunt Professor of Education and Social Policy at Northwestern University, will be inducted as an honorary member of Phi Beta Kappa. He studies such educational and tax issues as school accountability, school standards and welfare policy. His current research involves the Florida Corporate Tax Credit Scholarships Program, school accountability in Florida and early childhood policy and inequality. He will meet with W&L students and faculty while he is on campus.

Figlio has published his work in the American Economic Review, Journal of Public Economics, Journal of Law and Economics and Journal of Human Resources. He is a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research and serves on the executive board of the National Center for the Analysis of Longitudinal Data in Education Research. He is the inaugural editor of the American Education Finance Association's journal, Education Finance and Policy.

Figlio joined Northwestern in 2008 from the University of Florida, where he was the Knight-Ridder Professor of Economics. He has a Ph.D. and M.S. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and a B.S. from George Washington University.

Paul Christian Wiman, a member of the Washington and Lee Class of 1988, will be inducted in absentia as an alumni member of Phi Beta Kappa. That honor goes to alumni of not less than 10 years' standing who have distinguished themselves since graduation. Wiman is an acclaimed poet who has published three collections of poetry, "Hard Night," "The Long Home" and "Every Riven Thing," plus a work of prose, "Ambition and Survival: Becoming a Poet." He has served as the editor of Poetry magazine since 2003.

W&L students being inducted into Phi Beta Kappa:

Seniors: Maria Gabriela Albuja, Katherine Rebecca Bean, Kathleen Blackburn, Ashley Carr, Samantha Laurette Copping, William Lloyd Dorrance, Gregory Clarke Franke, Kathryn Bradley Gephart, William Oley Hall IV, Maya Iyengar, Kara LeAnn Karcher, Jamie Kim, Lu Li, Emmy Mathews, Lauren Jill Miller, Van Nguyen, Anne Parlato, Kyle Parsons, Maddy Quinn, Stephen William Arthur Randall, Rhett J. N. Rayos, Christian Timothy Roden, Wendy Shang, Lucy Simko and Meredith Rose Townsend.

Juniors: Laura Anne Ball, Austin Branstetter, Laura Christine Campbell, Samuel Campbell, Alex I. Finnegan, John Grigsby, Kelly Therese Harris, Kelli L. Jarrell, Dominika Roksana Kruszewska, Virginia Lovell, Danielle Nicole Maurer, Franco Moiso, Tamara Jean Morse, James V. Paldino II, Andrew Joseph Renaldo, Ian Rutherford Sturdy, Brooke Latta Sutherland, Chris Washnock, John Anderson Wells IV and Shiri Yadlin.

From the graduated Class of 2010: Alexandra Caritis, Samara Francisco, Lucy Glenn Hundley, Reagan Marlene Kerr, Kendall McCarthy Massengill, Clara Cramer McClenon and Sarah Thornsberry.

The winner of the Phi Beta Kappa J. Brown Goehring Sophomore Award will be announced at the convocation. The award goes to the student with the highest cumulative scholastic average through the end of the fall term of his or her sophomore year. It is named in honor of J. Brown Goehring, a retired chemistry professor at Washington and Lee. During his 38 years at the University, he spent 22 years as secretary/treasurer of the Phi Beta Kappa chapter.

Phi Beta Kappa was founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary. Its motto is "Love of learning is the guide of life."