Skip to:Main Content

Washington and Lee University

Washington and Lee University
News @ Washington and Lee University

ODK to Initiate Three Honorary and 25 Student Initiates during Founders Day/ODK Convocation

News Contact:

Washington and Lee University's Alpha Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa will recognize three honorary initiates and 25 student initiates at the Founders Day/Omicron Delta Kappa Convocation which will be held on Wednesday, Jan. 19, at 11:45 a.m. in Lee Chapel.

The ceremony will be streamed live on the internet at

Author and humorist Roy Blount Jr. will address the convocation. Blount also is a reporter, an actor and a musician with the Rock Bottom Remainders, a rock band composed entirely of writers. He is a former president of the Authors Guild, a member of PEN and of the Fellowship of Southern Authors, and a New York Library Literary Lion.

The convocation, including Blount's talk which is titled, "Robert E. Lee Going Forward," is free and open to the public.

The ODK honorary inductees are Alexandra R. Brown, Frank A. Miriello and Christopher B. Burnham, W&L class of 1980.

Brown, who holds the Jessie Ball duPont Endowed Chair in Religious Studies, has been a member of W&L's faculty since 1987, and has twice served as head of the religion department. She holds a B.A. from Duke University, an M.Div. from Yale Divinity School and a Ph.D. from Columbia University and Union Theological Seminary. While on sabbatical leaves, Brown also has taught at Wake Forest Theological Seminary and The Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago. She is co-chair of the Pauline Epistles Group of the Society of Biblical Literature, and in 2009-2010 was a resident member of the Center of Theological Inquiry in Princeton, N.J.

A widely published scholar, Brown is the author of "The Cross and Human Transformations: Paul's Words of the Cross in 1 Corinthians," co-editor of "Putting Body and Soul Together: Essays in Honor of Robin Scroggs," and author of numerous articles and reviews. Currently she is writing a commissioned volume: "1 Corinthians: A Commentary." In 2007, Brown gave the W&L Baccalaureate Address.

Miriello, W&L's head football coach, is a graduate of East Stroudsburg University where he was a scholar-athlete, three-year starter in the defensive backfield and earned all-conference honors his senior year. He came to W&L in 1978 as offensive line coach under Coach Gary Fallon. In 1982, he moved to Hampden-Sydney College as defensive coordinator, and the following year returned to Lexington to VMI's football program. After coaching high school football from 1985 to 1990, Miriello returned to W&L as assistant football and lacrosse coach, and defensive coordinator a year later. He became head football coach after Fallon's death.

In 16 seasons Miriello has achieved the most wins in W&L football history. His teams have won two Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) titles, 2006 and 2010. He has been named ODAC Coach of the Year five times. In 2006, Miriello was honored as American Football Coaches Association Regional Coach of the Year and Sportexe National Coach of the Year. Fifty-six of his players have achieved first team all-ODAC honors.

Burnham, vice chair and managing director of Deutsche Asset Management, based in N.Y., holds a B.A. from W&L and an M.P.A. from Harvard University. He began his career as an investment banker with Credit Suisse First Boston and Advest Inc. Burnham was elected three times to the Connecticut House of Representatives and served as assistant minority leader. A member of the Marine Corps Reserve, he was awarded a Combat Action Ribbon, a Navy Unit Citation and a Marine Corps Unit Citation after the Gulf War.

In 1994, Burnham became the Connecticut state treasurer then joined Pacific Investment Management Co. He served as assistant secretary of state for resource management and chief financial officer under Colin Powell and was acting under secretary of state for Condoleezza Rice. In 2005, U.N. Secretary-General Kofi Annan appointed him under secretary general for management and charged him with increased accountability and transparency. He created the first Ethics Office and wrote a whistleblower protection policy, among other things. Burnham received The President's Award for Management Excellence and the United States Secretary of State's Award for Distinguished Service.

Undergraduate Initiates:

Class of 2011: Allison N. Chopin from Baton Rouge, La.; Yasmine Espert from Dix Hills, N.Y.; Taylor Garrett from Birmingham, Ala.; Katherine Elizabeth Geddes from Dallas, Texas; Robert Stuart George from Middletown, N.J.; Catherine Kruse from St. Louis, Mo.; Gregory Matthew Kurkis from Roswell, Ga.; Scott Michael Matarese from White Plains, N.Y.; Hannah Elizabeth Muther from Rockford, Ill.; Frank Andrew Tessier Jr. from New Orleans, La.; Melissa Beth Valentine from Knoxville, Tenn.; and Sarah Warsco from Fort Wayne, Ind.

Class of 2012: Caitlin Edgar from DePere, Wis.; Susan Giampalmo from Glenwood, Md.; Patricia Isabel King from Norfolk, Va.; Alexandra Shabo from Hingham, Mass.; Robert R. Warneford-Thomson from Richmond, Va.; and Shiri Yadlin from Irvine, Calif.

Law School Initiates:

Class of 2011: Christopher M. Hirsch from Bethpage, N.Y.; Micah Prieb Stoltzfus Jost from Harrisonburg, Va.; Jennifer T. Nguyen from Sterling, Va.; and Robert Michael Vrana from Hockessin, Del.

Class of 2012: Michael Hill from West Point, Ga.; Ellis Harris Pretlow from Suffolk, Va.; and Christine M. Shepherd from Hubert, N.C.